© 2020 California Association of Supervisors of Child Welfare and Attendance

info@CASCWA.org   |   State CASCWA P.O. Box 879 Sanger, CA 93657

Awards & Recognitions

2019 CASCWA State
Lee Lundberg Award

Annually, CASCWA recognizes one person to be the recipient of the distinguished “Lee Lundberg CASCWA Service Award.” The 2019 “Lee Lundberg Award” was presented to Ms. Jeni Mendel.  Jeni has been a main contributer to CASCWA for several years.  She served the Grossmont Union High School District working in the Office of Child Welfare and Attendance.  She worked closely with the homeless and foster youth.  She is a major force on CDE's State SARB Board.  Congratulations to Jeni!

About the 
Lee Lundberg Award

Lee Lundberg was State President 1977- 1978 but had a long spanning career with CASCWA. His foresight and leadership in working with the California Legislature and keeping CASCWA in the loop on all legislation matters was legendary. Lee Lundberg set the stage for one of CASCWA’s basic goals as an organization to have a focus on legislation. Many of the subsequent giants of CASCWA were all mentored or influenced by the work of Lee Lundberg.

Each year the four CASCWA Sections, Bay, Delta-Sierra, San Joaquin and Southern, come together to select those individuals who have made significant contributions to the organization and their section. One individual is recognized as the “Lee Lundberg Award” recipient for their “Outstanding Service” to State CASCWA. These are the individuals who have worked for the betterment of our profession and our organization. The Lee Lundberg Award is the most prestigious CASCWA award.

Lee Lundberg


Bay Section Award

The 2019 Bay Section Recipient is Andrew Kevy

Hayward Unified

School District


Delta Sierra Section Award

The 2019 Delta Sierra Section Recipient is Melinda


Woodland Joint Unified

School District


San Joaquin
Section Award

The 2019 San Joaquin Section Recipient is Praxades Torres

Parlier Unified School District


Section Award

The 2019 San Joaquin Section Recipient is Vicente Bravo

Da Vinci Schools

CASCWA State President Brian Chandler


CASCWA is greatly indebted to Brian Chandler for his exceptional leadership during his term as president.


He is a true leader!  He has been the driving force behind positive changes that will last decades for our organization.  He is a hard worker and has the exceptional ability to bring our executive board members together for positive results.

Brian has been our webmaster and has taken our websites and data bases into a new level.  This can be difficult and confusing at time, but Brian always takes the time make you feel at ease and to get you to a new level.  Brian is shown here with Dennis Wiechman.  They have been a tremendous team and a dynamic force for today's CASCWA.


Brian works for the Ceres Unified School District and is busy everyday!

This editor has had the priviledge of working with several "CASCWA State Presidents" over the past few decades and this editor considers Brian to be one of the best!