The Faces Behind CASCWA

Southern Section—Executive Board Members

Rick Riegel

Southern Section
President

Placentia-Yorba Linda USD

rriegel@pylusd.org  

Vicente Bravo

President Elect

Southern Section
Da Vinci Schools

vbravo@davincischools.org

Jenifer Mendel

Past President
Southern Section

Grossmont UHSD, Retired

Jenifermendel53@gmail.com 

Janet Gray
Southern Section
Secretary

Banning USD

JGray@banning.k12.ca.us

Sandra Amatriain
Southern Section
Treasurer

Yurupa Unified SD, Retired

sandieamatriain@gmail.com 

The Faces Behind CASCWA

Southern Section — Area Representatives

Barbara Higgins
Southern Section 
San Diego County
Representative

San Diego Office

of Education

barbara.higgins@sdcoe.net

Hortencia Armendriz
Southern Section 
Imperial County 
Representative  

 Calexico Unified

School District

harmendariz@cusd.k12.org

Jennifer Kottke
Southern Section
Los Angeles COE

Representative Kottke_Jennifer@lacoe.edu   

Donald English
Southern Section

San Bernardino County Representative
 San Bernardino County
Superintendent of Schools

donald.english@sbcss.net 

Leslie Coghlan 
Southern Section 
Orange County Representative 
Anaheim Elementary

School District
lcoghlan@anaheimelementary.org  

Melissa Schoonmaker
Southern Section 
Los Angeles COE
Representative
Los Angeles County schoonmaker_melissa@lacoe.edu

Jenée Peevy
Southern Section     San Diego COE 
San Diego
Representative
Jpeevy@sdcoe.net

The Faces Behind CASCWA

Southern Section — Committees

Sherman Garnett 
Southern Section 
Legislation Chair
San Bernardino County

Sherman_Garnett@verizon.net   

Gerald Hime 
Southern Section
Chair Conference Committee

 Los Angeles County

Office of Education, Retired

Gjhime@earthlink.net

Donna Dalton Opoku-Agyeman 
Southern Section 
Past President Advisor
Lake Elsinore Unified

School District, Retired
Drdisblessed1@gmail.com   

Ilsa Garza-Gonzales 
Southern Section 
Co-Scholarship Chair

 Superintendent Fallbrook Union HSD igarzagonzalez@fuhsd.net

Bonnie Boone

Website/Orange COE 

  BBoone@ocde.us

Jason Ferrell
Southern Section 
Webmaster

 Anaheim Elementary School District

jferrell@anaheimelementary.org

Jennifer Gomeztrejo 
Southern Section 
State SARB Representative
Student Support Services

Solutions, Inc.
Gomeztrejo.Jennifer@4edconsultants.org   

Amir Alavi
Southern Section 
School Attendance

Riverside Deputy

District Attorney

amiralavi@rivcoda.org

Todd Bull 
Southern Section 
School Innovation & Achievement
SIA, Regional Account Manager

toddb@sia-us.com  

The Faces Behind CASCWA

Southern Section — Members at Large

Phil Kauble
Southern Section 

Honorary Member
at Large  

Los Angeles County Office of Education, Retired

philkauble@cox.net 

Tim Catlin
Southern Section 
Member at Large  

 ABC Unified School District

tim.catlin@abcusd.us

Ken Lorge
Southern Section
Member at Large

Placentia YLUSD Retired 

k_lorge@yahoo.com   

Jessie Cherri
Southern Section 
Member at Large
Orange Unified

School District, Retired
rcherri@socal.rr.com

Mara Hwang De Bravo 
Southern Section 
Member at Large
Student Support Services Solutions, Inc.

bravo.maria@s4edconsultants.org   

Jason Ferrell
Southern Section 
Webmaster

 Anaheim Elementary School District

jferrell@anaheimelementary.org

Betty Folsom 
Southern Section
Member at Large 
Riverside County Office of Education, Retired

folsomb8@gmail.com  

Cara Chavez
Scholarship Chair 

 
Jurupa Unified School District, Retired

cacha628@gmail.com 

Monique Yessian
Southern Section 
Member at Large  

 

Tustin Unified School District
myessian@tustin.k12.ca.us

Aurora M. Perry
Southern Section
Member at Large

 

Beaumont Unified
School District 

aurora.mendoza.perry@gmail.com   

Felicia Singleton-Daniel
Southern Section 
Member at Large
 

San Diego County Office

of Education
felicia.singleton@sdcoe.net

Mr. Riegel's President's Message

Dear CASCWA Members and Friends,

 

This has been an extraordinarily difficult time for our country as a whole, and our schools and school districts, in particular. 

 

During the past several months, the nation lost over 100,000 people to the COVID-19 virus, and our unemployment numbers skyrocketed to over 20%.  We watched on the news the killing of George Floyd and Ahmaud Arbery. The grief and outrage that we have felt from this racial violence during this time of crisis has accentuated the traumatic repercussions on our students and staff, and heightened our consciousness of personal bias and systemic prejudice against African Americans and other people of color. 

 

As the call for change reverberates throughout society, I think about what I can do to make a difference to promote love and respect and confront racism, hate and unfairness.  That is one of the reasons that CASCWA is so important and why I have valued my involvement.  From addressing the inequity in student discipline, to eliminating the school to prison pipeline, to promoting restorative practices, and preventing discrimination, harassment and bullying, CASCWA strives to promote equity in education. 

 

The voices of our members have been instrumental in helping students through education and confronting disproportionately based on race and other protected classes.  For Southern Section, our primary focus this year will be to bring together speakers and resources to help us in this work in April 2021 at the State Conference in San Diego.  We know that trainings and conferences for school districts will be restricted, but the need for coming together next spring for collective insight and collegial challenge will be more important than ever.  We hope that you will make sure to join us next year for 2020 VISION for Student Services.

 

If you have any suggestions or ideas that could be of benefit to the edification of the professionals in CASCWA and Student Services, please let me and/or other board members of CASCWA know.  We represent all of Southern California, and want to be connected and encouraging in this work.  Ultimately, we want to make a positive difference in the lives of our students.  What a great opportunity we all have!

Sincerely,

Rick Riegel

Southern Section President

A FEW WORDS ABOUT RICK RIEGEL

Rick Riegel M.A., MFT, PPS is the Administrator of Student Services at the Placentia-Yorba Linda Unified School District.  He started in Placentia-Yorba Linda in January 2015.  Prior to that, he was the Coordinator of Student Services at the Orange County Department of Education for over 5 years and Coordinator of Counseling and Child Welfare and Attendance at Centralia School District for 9 years.  He began his work with youth as a Marriage, Family and Child Therapist and was Director of Outpatient Services at Straight Talk, Inc. during 17 years working there.  He is President of the California Association of Supervisors of Child Welfare and Attendance, Southern Section.  He and his wife Pamela have been married for 40 years and he has 3 grown sons and a granddaughter.

2020-21 Southern Section Executive Board Meetings:

Meeting dates and times will be determined at the July 2020 meeting!

© 2020 California Association of Supervisors of Child Welfare and Attendance

info@CASCWA.org   |   State CASCWA P.O. Box 879 Sanger, CA 93657