© 2020 California Association of Supervisors of Child Welfare and Attendance

info@CASCWA.org   |   State CASCWA P.O. Box 879 Sanger, CA 93657

 

CASCWA Southern Section Information/Activities/Events:

2020 Southern Section's Scholarship Program

The Faces Behind CASCWA

Southern Section—Executive Board Members

Rick Riegel

Southern Section
President

Placentia-Yorba Linda USD

rriegel@pylusd.org  

Vicente Bravo

President Elect

Southern Section
Da Vinci Schools

vbravo@davincischools.org

Jenifer Mendel

Past President
Southern Section

Grossmont UHSD, Retired

Jenifermendel53@gmail.com 

Janet Gray
Southern Section
Secretary

Banning USD

JGray@banning.k12.ca.us

Sandra Amatriain
Southern Section
Treasurer

Yurupa Unified SD, Retired

sandieamatriain@gmail.com 

The Faces Behind CASCWA

Southern Section — Area Representatives

Hortencia Armendriz
Southern Section 
Imperial County 
Representative  

 Calexico Unified

School District

harmendariz@cusd.k12.org

Jennifer Kottke
Southern Section
Los Angeles COE

Representative Kottke_Jennifer@lacoe.edu   

Barbara Higgins
Southern Section 
San Diego County
Representative

San Diego Office

of Education

barbara.higgins@sdcoe.net

Donald English
Southern Section

San Bernardino County Representative
 San Bernardino County
Superintendent of Schools

donald.english@sbcss.net 

Leslie Coghlan 
Southern Section 
Orange County Representative 
Anaheim Elementary

School District
lcoghlan@anaheimelementary.org  

Melissa Schoonmaker
Southern Section 
Los Angeles COE
Representative
Los Angeles County schoonmaker_melissa@lacoe.edu

Jenée Peevy
Southern Section     San Diego COE 
San Diego
Representative
Jpeevy@sdcoe.net

The Faces Behind CASCWA

Southern Section — Committees

Sherman Garnett 
Southern Section 
Legislation Chair
San Bernardino County

Sherman_Garnett@verizon.net   

Gerald Hime 
Southern Section
Chair Conference Committee

 Los Angeles County

Office of Education, Retired

Gjhime@earthlink.net

Donna Dalton Opoku-Agyeman 
Southern Section 
Past President Advisor
Lake Elsinore Unified

School District, Retired
Drdisblessed1@gmail.com   

Ilsa Garza-Gonzales 
Southern Section 
Co-Scholarship Chair

 Superintendent Fallbrook Union HSD igarzagonzalez@fuhsd.net

Bonnie Boone

Website Editor

Orange COE 

  BBoone@ocde.us

Jennifer Gomeztrejo 
Southern Section 
State SARB Representative
Student Support Services

Solutions, Inc.
Gomeztrejo.Jennifer@4edconsultants.org   

Amir Alavi
Southern Section 
School Attendance

Riverside Deputy

District Attorney

amiralavi@rivcoda.org

Todd Bull 
Southern Section 
School Innovation & Achievement
SIA, Regional Account Manager

toddb@sia-us.com  

The Faces Behind CASCWA

Southern Section — Members at Large

Phil Kauble
Southern Section 

Honorary Member
at Large  

Los Angeles County Office of Education, Retired

philkauble@cox.net 

Tim Catlin
Southern Section 
Member at Large  

 ABC Unified School District

tim.catlin@abcusd.us

Ken Lorge
Southern Section
Member at Large

Placentia YLUSD Retired 

k_lorge@yahoo.com   

Jessie Cherri
Southern Section 
Member at Large
Orange Unified

School District, Retired
rcherri@socal.rr.com

Mara Hwang De Bravo 
Southern Section 
Member at Large
Student Support Services Solutions, Inc.

bravo.maria@s4edconsultants.org   

Jason Ferrell
Southern Section 
Member at Large

 Anaheim Elementary School District

jferrell@anaheimelementary.org

Betty Folsom 
Southern Section
Member at Large 
Riverside County Office of Education, Retired

folsomb8@gmail.com  

Terry Gendreau
Southern Section 

Member at Large  
 

Bellflower Unified School District, Retired

hookycop@yahoo.com 

Mayu Iwatani
Southern Section 
Member at Large  

 

Orange County Office
of Education

miwatani@ocde.us

Aurora M. Perry
Southern Section
Member at Large

 

Beaumont Unified
School District 

aurora.mendoza.perry@gmail.com   

Felicia Singleton-Daniel
Southern Section 
Member at Large
 

San Diego County Office

of Education
felicia.singleton@sdcoe.net

A Message From Our President

Dear CASCWA Members and Friends.

 

An exciting year lies ahead for Southern Section CASCWA, and I am honored and excited to be leading as the Southern Section President for 2019-21.  CASCWA has helped to promote networking and training for Student Service professionals and other school administrators across the state, enabling them to handle the unique challenges of the 21st Century.  It was a different time in the 1950’s when CASCWA began, but the mission remains the same: to help build school administration so that they provide interventions and supports to assist students, in compliance with federal, state and local laws and policies. 

Our first opportunity to meet will be at the Knott’s Berry Farm Hotel on October 10.  Our theme for this training is “Addressing and Supporting Mental Health through Student Services.”  We are bringing together excellent speakers from mental health, social work, school administration and school legal to help us help our students.  We recognize the need for educators to have helpful tools and information around social-emotional learning to address issues of equity and ensure that students attend school in a safe and supportive environment.  This day will be devoted to help us do just that.

The information about our State Conference is just being posted to our website.  Our theme this year is “2020 vision for Student Services,” as we continue to address the areas of discipline, equity, safety and connecting with our students with new lenses.  We are on a four year cycle to host the CASCWA State Conference, and this year is our turn.  Our team selected the Bahia Hotel in San Diego as the site for our conference on April 20th, 21st and 22nd.  It has been 16 years since we held the conference in San Diego, so it is long overdue but will allow us to not only enjoy an outstanding conference, but also one of the most beautiful cities in the world.  We recommend early registration, as our last two conferences sold out and we have limited rooms and space at the hotel. 

If you have any suggestions or ideas that could be of benefit to the edification of the professionals in CASCWA and Student Services, please let me and/or other board members of CASCWA know.  We represent all of Southern California, and want to be connected and encouraging in this work.  Ultimately, we want to make a positive difference in the lives of our students.  What a great opportunity we all have!

Sincerely,

Rick Riegel

Southern Section President

2019-20 Southern Section Executive Board Meetings:

Meeting dates and times are listed below:

2019 Meetings:

 

July 22, 2019 Bahia Hotel San Diego

August 30, 2019          1:00

September 25, 2019   1:00

November 14, 2019    1:00

2020 Meetings:

 

January 15, 2020   1:00

March 14, 2020     9:00

April 6, 2020          9:00

April 10, 2020        9:00

April 17, 2020        1:00

June - Scholarship Luncheon