© 2019 California Association of Supervisors of Child Welfare and Attendance

info@CASCWA.org   |   State CASCWA P.O. Box 879 Sanger, CA 93657

Student Scholarships

Student scholarships are given out each year by all four sections of CASCWA. Visit each section pages to learn more about the rich history of these scholarship programs. Each year, over $10,000 is given out statewide. For scholarship eligibility, refer to the regional map below.

2019-2020 CASCWA Student Scholarship Opportunities:

CASCWA Bay Section:  The students we want to recognize and honor are those who may have had to overcome lack of success early on due to personal or family problems, attendance or discipline issues. These students may have benefited from the intervention of a school counselor, community agency, or a child welfare and attendance worker.


Please help us to reach deserving students who are working against the odds to improve themselves. This may be a student who might not necessarily be attending a four-year college but attending a community college or a vocational program.


If anyone knows of a student who is deserving of this honor, please contact Bay Scholarship Chairperson, Janet McMurray at jmcmurray@wccusd.net for an application and details about the scholarship program.  

The 2019-20 Scholarship information will be updated in the fall of 2019!

2019 Bay Section Workshop and Scholarship Presentation (click here.)

CASCWA Delta Sierra Section:  The annual Richard C. Davis scholarship was established by the Delta Sierra Section of the California Association of Supervisors Child Welfare and Attendance to recognize the contributions Rich Davis has made to the association and for the enduring services he has rendered to school age students.


Two $1000 scholarships are awarded annually to a Continuation or Alternative school graduate who is planning to continue their education in college or a vocational training school. The scholarship award was designed to recognize the resiliency of a student who has overcome personal obstacles to graduate from high school. 

Delta Sierra is proud to announce the offering of a recurring scholarship opportunity to previous Richard C. Davis Scholarship recipients. To re-apply for the Richard C. Davis Scholarship, students must still be attending college or a vocational training school to be considered.

2019 Delta Sierra "Richard Davis" Scholarship Luncheon (click here.) 

CASCWA San Joaquin Section:  The Anthony Brucia Success Awards are the heart of the San Joaquin section of CASCWA. They are named after a high school graduate who found success. 

CASCWA’s San Joaquin section is made up of Central California school professionals who work with students in areas of attendance, truancy or behavior matters.


By providing cash awards and scholarships, we recognize those students who, through hard work and support, made the commitment and succeeded in improving their character.   They “turned it around.”  


We urge school staff in comprehensive, alternative or charter schools to help identify and assist those students who are applying for these grants.  For the students who win this award, it represents a belief in them, recognition of their achievements, and commitment to their future.  

This year, five Central California high school seniors will be granted $1,000 cash awards.  As in the past, each winner is also eligible for up to three continuing education scholarships.  Additional and helpful information can be found on the Anthony Brucia Success Awards Foundation web page. 

CASCWA Southern Section:  In the 1990’s, the Southern Section scholarship program was launched under the leadership of Karen Saunders, Agnes Moss and Mark Michels. Rick Riegel, Child Welfare and Attendance, Placentia Yorba Linda Unified School District, is to be commended for his exceptional leadership in coordinating all Southern Section scholarship activities for the past several years. We encourage all of our members to nominate students who have overcome adversity and are pursuing their dreams of a high education and a successful career.

The 2019-20 Scholarship information will be updated in the fall of 2019.

2019 Southern Section "Lillie Wilson" Scholarship Luncheon.