© 2019 California Association of Supervisors of Child Welfare and Attendance

info@CASCWA.org   |   State CASCWA P.O. Box 879 Sanger, CA 93657

CASCWA State Executive Board Members

Evelyn Ocasio
CASCWA President

Director Alternative Ed.
Hayward Unified USD

eocasio@husd.k12.ca.us  

Jeni Mendel
CASCWA President Elect

Grossmont Union High

School District

jenifermendel53@gmail.com

Brian Chandler
Past State President

Ceres Unified

School District

bchandler@ceres.k12.ca.us

Melissa Parrett
 Vice President

Nevada County
Superintendent of Schools

mparrett@nevco.org 

Stephanie Newby
CASCWA Secretary 

Mojave U.S.D.
Assistant Superintendent

newby128@msn.com


CASCWA Treasurer

Being Updated

David Kopperud
CDE & State SARB

California Department of Education - Education Programs Consultant

dkopperud@cde.ca.gov

Dennis Wiechmann 
San Joaquin Section 
Board Advisor
Sanger U.S.D.

dwiechmann@sbcglobal.net   

Andrew Kevy
Bay Section
President

Hayward U.S.D. akevy@husd.k12.ca.us

Melissa Parrett
Delta Sierra Section President

Student Services Program Coordinator
Nevada County
Superintendent of Schools

mparrett@nevco.org 

Dr. Kevin Torosian
San Joaquin Section
President

Central Unified
School District ktorosian@centralusd.k12.ca.us

Rick Riegel

Southern Section
President

Placentia-Yorba Linda USD

rriegel@pylusd.org  

Sherman Garnett 
Southern Section 
Legislation Chair
San Bernardino County

Sherman_Garnett@verizon.net   

Robin Gainey 
San Joaquin Section 

Southern Area
Member at Large
 

 Mojave Unified

School District

robingainey@mojave.k12.ca.us

Dan Sackheim
California Department of Education Laison
dsackheim@cde.ca.gov

David Cohen
San Joaquin Section 
Board Advisor
Clovis Unified 

School District

davidcohen@cusd.com

Dishawn Givens
Member at Large

Education Equity Coordinator Fremont U.S.D.

ladybugcraze@yahoo.com

Jennifer Kottke
Co-Intercom Editor and Los Angeles COE Representative

Kottke_Jennifer@lacoe.edu

Frank Boehler

Co-Intercom Editor
Orange U.S.D. Retired frank_boehler@roadrunner.com

CASCWA's State President's Message

As we continue to strive and ensure that each student in our State is educated through an academically rigorous and supportive system, and families are active partners in this endeavor, we promote a culture of urgency as we put these systems in place. The on-going challenge is to help students expand their horizons by giving them opportunities to be actively involved in their school experience so they feel supported, challenged, safe, healthy and productive on their journey to become thriving successful adults in the 21st century. Be it through academic acceleration or intervention, mental and health support or through collaboration with other organizations at the school site or in the community, we can accomplish this through the CASCWA organization.

The CASCWA State Executive Board has taken on this task to help with the social, emotional, academic, and career oriented development of our students and families. With that in mind, the passion of providing services and programs through workshops and conferences to support our members and partners continues to be a priority. The global high demand in the work force has become evident as more businesses seek educated and competitive employees. Our efforts help all students compete and thrive.

Every year CASCWA prepares an abundance of presenters and practitioners who are committed to improving student services through best practices. These educational experts inform our members on current Board Policies that have been passed, Legislative updates, Truancy, School Climate, Health & Wellness, Community Engagement, and much more. The CASCWA State Conference is one of the best leading professional development conference venues in California.

This year CASCWA’S 2020 State Conference will be held in the beautiful Bahia Resort in San Diego, CA April 20 – 22, 2020. We will have a wealth of information and resources that will assist districts with undertaking the challenge of continuously educating our communities with fidelity and rigor. Southern Section will be hosting the “2020 Vision for Student Services Conference”. They will offer a variety of conference strands that will meet your professional expectations.

Let’s continue looking forward to educating and preparing our youth and adult communities!

Warm regards,

Evelyn Ocasio

CASCWA State President

CASCWA's 2019-20 State Executive Board Meeting Dates:

 

September 9, 2019

October 9, 2019

November 12, 2019

December 13, 2019

January 13, 2020

February 7, 2020

March 9, 2020

April 20-22 at CASCWA's State Conference

May 15, 2020

June 8, 2020